Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Average Rules

Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 5/19/2010
Parent-Teacher conferences cause Frankie to worry about the kids. In them she's told Axl is gifted but not applying himself, that her teachers still do not know who Sue is, and Brick may have to repeat the second-grade due to failure to return over 30 library books.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/12/2010
Frankie points out to Mike that his social ineptness has been passed on to Brick, leading Mike to decide that both he and Brick need to be more social, and the Heck family BBQ is the perfect time to try.
Episode Guide

Mother's Day

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/5/2010
Mother's Day for Frankie is anything but serene when she finds herself doing more for Mike and the kids and less for herself.
Episode Guide

Worry Duty

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 4/28/2010
Frankie is worried that Axl's going to get his heart crushed again when his on-again/off-again girlfriend, Morgan (Alexa Vega, "Spy Kids," "Ruby & the Rockits"), re-enters his life and tries to mold him into the man she wants him to be.
Episode Guide

TV or Not TV

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/14/2010
After failing to pay the electric bill on time, the electric company shuts off the Heck's power. This leads Frankie and Mike to cut down on their unnecessary expenses, including their cable TV.
Episode Guide

The Final Four

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 3/31/2010
Mike's dream comes to fruition when Frankie's boss, Mr. Ehlert, offers him two tickets to the Final Four.
Episode Guide

The Fun House

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 3/24/2010
Frankie fears for her job when a motivational consultant comes to get the sale team into shape. While Frankie is putting in many extra hours, Mike has to deal with the children and their issues, including making the house more fun for Axl and his friends, giving advice to Sue's ex-boyfriend and helping Brick with a school project.
Episode Guide

The Break Up

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/10/2010
Axl is heartbroken when his girlfriend (Alexa Vega) breaks up with him; Sue and Brick watch a scary movie.
Episode Guide

The Bee

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/3/2010
When Mike discovers that Brick is a spelling whiz and won the school spelling bee, he puts all his efforts into training him to win the regional bee, which could ultimately lead to competing in the Scripps Spelling Bee.
Episode Guide

Valentine's Day

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/10/2010
Valentine's Day unexpectedly finds Frankie and Mike home alone and ready for a romantic evening while Brick is away at his first sleepover, Sue goes to her first boy-girl party, and Axl has a big date night planned with some friends.
Episode Guide

The Yelling

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/3/2010
Frankie makes a deal with her kids, that if they do their homework and keep chores she won't nag them.
Episode Guide

The Interview

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/13/2010
The quarry is closed for a time because they found dinosaur bones there. This means Mike will likely be out of work for an extended period.
Episode Guide

The Neighbor

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/6/2010
When Sue has a run-in with her sons, Frankie fears that a confrontation with the trasy neighbor may be at hand.
Episode Guide

The Jeans

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/6/2010
A hormonally charged Sue wants a cool pair of jeans in order to fit in with her peers, resulting in Frankie and Mike enduring the unpredictability of teenagers, while Axl wants a car to impress a girl.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/9/2009
Mike takes over the responsibility of organizing the Heck family Christmas while Frankie practices for a solo that she is singing at midnight mass.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/2/2009
Frankie encounters two perfect siblings and vows to make her children stop fighting and become a loving family.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/25/2009
Frankie's plan to have an idyllic family Thanksgiving backfires when Mr. Ehlert demands his staff work over the holiday.
Episode Guide

The Scratch

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/18/2009
Frankie accidentally hits Brick in the head with a beer bottle when trying to get the trash out before the garbage truck leaves.
Episode Guide

The Front Door

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/4/2009
When Axl accidentally breaks down the front door, Mike insists that, he fix it in order to teach him a lesson, which leaves the Heck house wide open for days.
Episode Guide

The Block Party

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/28/2009
Brick's teachers tell Frankie and Mike that he is "socially challenged". Mike believes that enrolling Brick on a basketball team is a good way to get him to interact with others, but the idea falls through.
Episode Guide

The Trip

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/21/2009
Sue sells sausage and cheese samples for the school. All her efforts go in vain as the school fails to see this.
Episode Guide

The Floating Anniversary

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/14/2009
Frankie and Mike's romantic anniversary get-away is ruined by various family matters, including Brick being sick, Sue being lovesick, Axl just getting his learner's permit, and two psychotic aunt's and their dogs.
Episode Guide

The Cheerleader

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/7/2009
Trying to save her job, Frankie organizes a publicity stunt by filling a car with jelly beans. Meanwhile, Sue fails to make the swim team and realizes that she needs glasses and Brick starts reading his mother's romance novels when he can't check books out of the library.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/30/2009
Frankie is struggling in her career as a car salesman because she has yet to sell one. She finally thinks that she has made her first sale, but the car is stolen right in front of her.