Season 8 Episodes

Episode Guide

Fight or Flight

Season 8, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/16/2017
From ABC: Having finally graduated college, Axl tells Frankie and Mike that he’s planning on going to Europe over the summer with Kenny.
Episode Guide

The Final Final

Season 8, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/9/2017
From ABC: Frankie, Mike and Brick begin to notice that their luck has changed dramatically for the better after the Prairie Scouts accidentally paint the Donahue’s address on their curb; and after missing his final college test before he graduates, Axl pleads with his teacher to let him take it, otherwise he won’t be able to graduate.
Episode Guide

Clear and Present Danger

Season 8, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/2/2017
From ABC: Frankie frantically searches the house for Axl’s graduation gift, which she bought months before and hid; Sue decides that she wants to make a sweet video for Mike’s upcoming birthday – even though the family warns her that he probably won’t like it.
Episode Guide

Adult Swim

Season 8, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/18/2017
From ABC: After discovering that he doesn’t have a decent suit to wear for upcoming business interviews, Frankie is thrilled when Axl agrees to let her take him shopping to help him pick out a suit; and when Mike threatens to do away with the family summer pool if Sue and Brick don’t start using it, they begin to worry that he and Frankie may take even more things away from around the house from their childhood that they don’t use anymore as they edge towards adulthood.
Episode Guide

The Confirmation

Season 8, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/11/2017
From ABC: After being reminded that Brick was never confirmed, Frankie and Mike send him to Reverend TimTom’s Wilderness Jesus Jam weekend camp to brush up on his religious knowledge in preparation for the blessed event.
Episode Guide

The Par-tay

Season 8, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/4/2017
From ABC: Bill Norwood is so upset with Mike for poaching his plumber at a reduced rate that their friendship could be at risk.
Episode Guide

Exes and Ohhhs

Season 8, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/14/2017
From ABC: After Axl runs into just about all of his ex-girlfriends while attending a St. Patrick’s Day party – including Devin Levin, Cassidy and even Weird Ashley – Hutch tells Axl that the universe is trying to tell him something about his love life, and that he must speak with each of them to try and figure it out.
Episode Guide

Swing and a Miss

Season 8, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/7/2017
From ABC: Lexie spends Spring Break with the Hecks and confesses to Sue that she has a crush on Axl.
Episode Guide

Dental Hijinks

Season 8, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/21/2017
From ABC: After Frankie tries to get a stubborn Mike to go see Dr. Goodwin to take care of his toothache, Mike convinces the good doctor to leave his tooth alone and tell Frankie that everything was ok.
Episode Guide

Sorry Not Sorry

Season 8, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/14/2017
From ABC: Frankie and Mike frantically attempt to shut off the water and save some treasured items when the pipes burst in the basement.
Episode Guide

Ovary and Out

Season 8, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/7/2017
From ABC: Frankie becomes sad when her doctor informs her that her ovaries are shriveled up, which means her days of having kids are over.
Episode Guide

Picture Imperfect

Season 8, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/17/2016
From ABC: Brad agrees to lead Sue’s no-cut a cappella group as they enter a music competition, and Brick desperately asks for Frankie and Mike’s advice when girlfriend Cindy tells him that he reads too much, and if he doesn’t stop, she’ll break up with him.
Episode Guide

Hoosier Maid

Season 8, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/10/2016
From ABC: Frankie is ecstatic when she wins free maid service for a month. But the Heck house turns out to be quite the frustrating challenge to clean.
Episode Guide

Escape Orson

Season 8, Episode 10 - Air Date: 1/3/2016
From ABC: The Hecks find themselves spending New Year’s Day attempting to stave off a zombie apocalypse in the Orson Escape Room, desperately trying to beat the Donahue’s record of getting out with more than one minute, eight seconds to spare.
Episode Guide

A Very Marry Christmas

Season 8, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/13/2016
From ABC: As Christmas approaches, Sue keeps a holiday secret from the family; after agreeing to watch the neighbor’s three kids, Brick finds himself trying to hide from them as they had such a good time that they keep wanting to come over and play; and Mike doesn’t know how to react when Bill Norwood gives him a Christmas gift for the first time ever.
Episode Guide

Trip and Fall

Season 8, Episode 8 - Air Date: 12/6/2016
From ABC: Sue attempts to convince Axl to end his estrangement with the family after learning their true feelings about April.
Episode Guide

Look Who's Not Talking

Season 8, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/29/2016
From ABC: Frankie is devastated when Axl refuses to talk to her or even answer her texts after inadvertently admitting how she feels about April in front of him.
Episode Guide

Thanksgiving VIII

Season 8, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/22/2016
From ABC: Frankie has come to the conclusion that April is not good enough for Axl and does everything in her power to keep her out of their annual Christmas family photo.
Episode Guide


Season 8, Episode 5 - Air Date: 11/15/2016
From ABC: Sue anxiously tries to choose a college major before deadline, she learns a shocking secret from Frankie.
Episode Guide

True Grit

Season 8, Episode 4 - Air Date: 11/1/2016
From ABC: Sue has had enough of boyfriend Jeremy and wants to break up with him. But not knowing how to do it, she asks Axl for some of his worldly advice.
Episode Guide

Halloween VII: The Heckoning

Season 8, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/25/2016
From ABC: As Halloween approaches, Frankie is taken aback when she discovers that, if the circumstances ever arose where she and Mike got divorced, the kids would all choose to live with Mike.
Episode Guide

A Tough Pill to Swallow

Season 8, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/18/2016
From ABC: When a devastated Sue discovers that she has been kicked out of college because she forgot to renew her financial aid, Mike tries to come to her rescue and convince a tough college bursar to reinstate her.
Episode Guide

The Core Group

Season 8, Episode 1 - Air Date: 10/11/2016
From ABC: Frankie and Mike are excited to meet April - the love of Axl's life, Sue wants to change her major to theater, and Brick is starting high school and making it his mission to try for a fresh start.